The Ads for Super Bowl XLV

Last year, Pepsi generated a lot of buzz during the Super Bowl because they decided not to air any ads.  In my blog (https://knoxkeith.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/super-bowl-ads-have-changed/) I discussed the merits of social media and they dying power of broadcast media. But as I was reminded this year, the Super Bowl is the greatest show on earth and if you are going to watch live television, this is when you do watch the ads!

Overall, I was not overwhelmed by the ads.  None of them knocked my socks off.  USAToday posted an article that ranked the ads and provided links to (re)watch all of them.  http://www.usatoday.com/money/advertising/admeter/2011/super-bowl-ad-meter/43271432/1.

So, which ads were your favorite from this year’s Super Bowl?  Did you know the Doritos ad with the pug (man teases dog) was filmed and produced by an independent (non-Madison avenue) for around $500?  His ad was actually an entry into a contest where contestants submitted their own commercials.  (Can you say “user generated content?”)  As a result, he won (earned?) $1 million.  Not a bad payoff for his $500 commercial.

Personally, the little boy in the Darth Vader costume stole the show!  What are your thoughts?

One thought on “The Ads for Super Bowl XLV

  1. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads.

    I’m hoping to contribute & aid other customers like its helped me. Great job.

Leave a Reply

